Login | Signup

Battlefield 4 Will Launch With 7 Modes On 10 Maps

Jonathan Lester
Battlefield 4, DICE, EA, FPS, multiplayer, PC games, PS3 games, PS4 games, Xbox 360 games, Xbox One Games

Battlefield 4 Will Launch With 7 Modes On 10 Maps

DICE has revealed a couple of very important numbers: namely how many multiplayer maps and gametypes to expect from Battlefield 4 at launch. Two of these modes will be new to the series, including a tense infantry-only battle called Defuse.

According to a new post on the Battlefield Blog, DICE confirms that Battlefield 4 will include the following gametypes when it releases this Christmas: Team Deathmatch, Squad Deathmatch, Rush, Domination, Conquest, Defuse, and Obliteration.

Obliteration received some in-depth explanation, described as "one of the most frantic and high-paced modes available." Two teams battle over a single bomb in medium-sized maps, the objective being to use it to destroy three enemy installations. The singular explosive will naturally act as a honey pot, appearing in random central locations to dynamically create choke points and intense firefights.

Defuse, the second all-new mode, remains relatively mysterious. Players apparently "don’t have any respawns at all for an even tighter and quicker infantry-only game mode," but beyond that, we'll have to wait for the next update.

"All seven game modes will be playable across the 10 multiplayer maps launched with the game," concludes the blog post.

Battlefield 4 is out in October on PC, PS3 and Xbox 360 - with next-gen versions following when their respective platforms launch. A recent gameplay trailer shows off its dynamic maps designed around the concept of 'Levolution."

Add a comment 1 comment
Tsung  Aug. 28, 2013 at 08:17

Defuse... sounds very much like Counterstrike (de-maps) to me :p


Leave a Trackback from your own site

Email Address:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.