Login | Signup

Borderlands 2 (PC) Video Review | (Gun) Brand Loyalty

Carl Phillips
2K Games, Borderlands 2, FPSRPG, Games reviews, Gearbox Software, PC games, PhysX, Video reviews
Borderlands 2 | PC

Borderlands 2 (PC) Video Review | (Gun) Brand Loyalty

We've already unleashed our official verdict on Gearbox Software's FPSRPG sequel, but that was just for the console version. In Dealspwn's very first video review, Carl takes a look at the PC version as he explains why he considers it the definitive version of the game.

Got any feedback on our first video review? Do you agree with the assessment? Are you as big a fan of Jakobs firearms? Sound off in the comments!

Add a comment13 comments
X10  Sep. 25, 2012 at 19:29

Is it still 9/10 if played Single-Player?

JonLester  Sep. 26, 2012 at 10:07

Basically, yes. A few of the set pieces are clearly designed around multiple players, and it's a fantastic co-op experience, but I thoroughly enjoyed it solo. Picking the right class build will be even more important though, since you'll want to focus on survivability.

Kemp1988  Sep. 26, 2012 at 10:16

Awesome video review guys, do more!

MattGardner  Sep. 26, 2012 at 10:43

Is it still 9/10 if played Single-Player?

I've spent a good 12 out of the 15 hours I've played of it doing it solo. The improved AI makes for constantly engaging encounters in a fashion that Borderlands 1 could never provide.

It's basically Diablo with guns.

I'm not normally a huge fan of loot grinders, but I can't put this one down.

Quietus  Sep. 26, 2012 at 11:42

The improved AI makes for constantly engaging encounters in a fashion that Borderlands 1 could never provide.
I found this too. While an experienced player could walk all over the original, I've had more second winds in this already that I've probably ever had in Borderlands. Just as well that there are plenty of badass offerings for second winds, I guess. One tactic I use is to open fire on a weak enemy first, and leave him with a little health. Then focus on the biggies. If you go down, take out the near-dead weakling, and get back into the action.:)

X10  Sep. 26, 2012 at 13:08

JonLester,MattGardner,Quietus - Thank you!

I've not played Borderlands 1, though lots of people recommend it, but as a co-op experience. Would you guys say that playing Borderlands 1 (Solo) should be a pre-requisite, or just go for Borderlands 2 and miss out the 1st one??

Good video review, though someone should tell Carl to relax a bit to let it sound a little more natural. Unless that is his natural conversational voice :O
I guess that will come with more practice though.

Quietus  Sep. 26, 2012 at 20:53

Well, I never play anything multiplayer, as gaming is my escapism. While some games like this cater very well for multiplayer, there's no reason why you wouldn't enjoy this alone. If I were to make a suggestion, I'd recommend the first game as a starter. While there's not really any story you can't live without, it does help you understand the characters better, and the difficulty is also lower than Borderlands 2, so you'll be more used to the mechanics going into this one.

Either way, welcome to the Borderlands. "There ain't no rest for the wicked. Money don't grow on trees...":)

MattGardner  Sep. 26, 2012 at 23:36

I got bills to pay, I got mouths to feed; there ain't nothin' in this world for free!

X10  Sep. 27, 2012 at 11:04

Cool guys, thanks for that. I guess I'll grab 1 for now and by the time I upgrade my PC to play Borderlands 2 in native res it'll probably be down to a £5 :)

I appreciate all the advice. Dealspwn Rocks!

Last edited by X10, Sep. 27, 2012 at 11:04
Quietus  Sep. 28, 2012 at 10:27

Just one more note (in case you're still reading this): Borderlands 2 runs on pretty much the same specs as the original.:)

X10  Sep. 28, 2012 at 12:35

Just one more note (in case you're still reading this): Borderlands 2 runs on pretty much the same specs as the original.:)

I'm running a Q6600 @ 3.2GHz and a GTS 8800, now I'm worried I might not even be able to play the original.

Used the NVIDIA Online Check tool for Borderlands 2 and it says a GTX560 is recommended :O

My native res is 2560 x 1440 by the way ;)

Quietus  Sep. 28, 2012 at 13:02

Yes, but that's recommended. Recommended specs are normally aimed at getting maximum detail out of the game. I'm only running a dual core 2.6 with a Radeon HD 5770, and I can run it fine at almost max settings.

While comparison do show my card as better than yours, I still think you'll be fine if you drop your setting s a nudge.

X10  Sep. 29, 2012 at 12:32

Thanks Quietus. I do like running games at Max settings where I can, hate to think I'm missing out on anything ;)

But as you suggest it will be alright I will jump in.
Borderlands 1 here I come.....as soon as I've finished my long list of incomplete games :(



Leave a Trackback from your own site

Email Address:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.