Login | Signup
Question
UserName

Our OUYA backer edition has arrived - impressions and review incoming

JonLester |  May. 28, 2013 at 12:04

After several weeks of manufacturing, shipping and customs, our OUYA console has finally arrived. http://www.dealspwn.com/ouya-lack-of-review-update

I'll do my best to get some impressions and/or a full review up soon, which I can already tell will be mixed (that controller... ugh). However, it's important to remember that my model is the backer edition, which isn't necessarily representative of the retail version. Know this going in.

Either way, if you've got any questions, sling 'em up here and I'll answer them/incorporate into the backer edition review.

Some unboxing pics on my twitter account, btw, or right here.

http://www.dealspwn.com/writer/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ouya1.jpg

http://www.dealspwn.com/writer/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ouya2.jpg

http://www.dealspwn.com/writer/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ouya3.jpg

http://www.dealspwn.com/writer/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/ouya4.jpg

Add a comment10 comments
JonLester  May. 28, 2013 at 12:05

Fun fact: I'm upgrading my phone next month. A decent camera will be HIGH on my list of priorities - sorry for the picture resolution/focus! Will bust out the SLR for the review.

Last edited by JonLester, May. 28, 2013 at 12:07
Quietus  May. 28, 2013 at 14:31

I chuckled at the tackiness of actually having O, U, Y, and A on the buttons.:p

Awaiting more information...

JonLester  May. 28, 2013 at 14:46

@Quietus: The official line is that the 'OUYA' buttons make things easier for colour-blind gamers. ;) Glad that Y is in the same position as the Xbox 360 controller, though (same colour, too).

stevenjameshyde  May. 28, 2013 at 15:11

I can't be the only one who can't help but read the name 'Ouya' in the voice of Duffman? Surely?

Late  May. 28, 2013 at 15:18

Keen to know about:
Console build quality? (including cables sitting tightly, ease to open/modify, etc.)
Controller quality? (including ergonomics/balance)
Is XBMC up and running? If so, is it working well?
Marketplace - how big or desolate is it?
.... - is it just games, or are there other apps?
.... - is it all paid or are there free-to-play games? (How do prices measure up against ios-marketplace/google-play?)


Fully understood that backer hardware may be different to retail, and software is likely continually evolving at the moment.

Late  May. 28, 2013 at 15:24

Will bust out the SLR for the review.
Good call! :P

I chuckled at the tackiness of actually having O, U, Y, and A on the buttons.:p
Too difficult to resist, surely. You know you or I would do the exact same, and damn those who mock the cheesiness! XD

Glad that Y is in the same position as the Xbox 360 controller, though (same colour, too).
Shame about the A, by the same token.

I can't be the only one who can't help but read the name 'Ouya' in the voice of Duffman? Surely?
You definitely aren't, lol :D

JonLester  May. 28, 2013 at 15:30

@Late: I'll quickly answer a couple of these here (will naturally go into more detail in the article):

Console build quality? Very impressive. Cables fit snugly, feels satisfyingly solid, looks gorgeous thanks to Behar's styling (if a bit like an upside-down sandcastle bucket).

Controller quality? Horrible. HORRIBLE. This has already been pointed out by early reviews, but the face plates aren't really secured by anything and often ride up/stop being flush against the chassis, scraping against your fingers at the top. The triggers are incredibly loose and jangly. Surprisingly ugly and slightly uncomfortable too, perhaps due to high bumper placement. Ergonomics are pretty decent otherwise (will tell you more after putting in a proper session). Pic here:

https://twitter.com/jon_dealspwn/statuses/339341265483210752

It also seems to be a little laggy as well.

OUYA have promised that the retail controller will be far superior, and frankly, it needs to be to deserve its £39.99 RRP. UPDATE: Erm, apparently I might actually have a retail controller. Oh dear.

Last edited by JonLester, May. 28, 2013 at 18:57
Late  May. 28, 2013 at 15:32

Would third party controllers be compatible?
Sony's bluetooth isn't it? (Current gen being sans touchpad, natch).

Last edited by Late, May. 28, 2013 at 15:33
JonLester  May. 28, 2013 at 15:36

OUYA should be compatible with any Bluetooth controller, such as the DualShock 3. Some people have also claimed that it even supports Xbox 360 controllers - I'll be sure to test that.

JonLester  May. 28, 2013 at 16:42

CONFIRMED: The OUYA interface is natively compatible with a wired Xbox 360 controller via USB. Bliss...

NB: Game compatibility, however, may well vary on a case by case basis. Again, I'll look into it.

Last edited by JonLester, May. 28, 2013 at 16:42

Trackbacks

Leave a Trackback from your own site

Email Address:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.