Login | Signup
Discussion
UserName

Where's the Watch Dogs review?

JonLester |  May. 27, 2014 at 10:45

Good question.

I'm sure you know that the review embargo has now lapsed -- launch day, perhaps tellingly -- but we won't have any coverage for you yet.

Due to "stock" issues (and our place in the pecking order, we strongly suspect), Ubisoft are sending us a review copy on "Tuesday 27th or Wednesday at the very latest."

Which is a little upsetting, to be honest. Still, we'll have to make the best of it.

We won't rush, bodge or otherwise half-ass things, so will instead look to generate a couple of articles before delivering the review on Friday, over the weekend or early next week.

So I'd invite you to share your own experiences and impressions of Watch Dogs in that time! We're all in the same boat, so let us know how you get on!

Add a comment7 comments
Late  May. 27, 2014 at 11:21

Hopefully the graphics look better than the
c64 version you posted a few days back... ;)

I look forward to your articles/review.

JonLester  May. 28, 2014 at 10:06

So the review copy has eventually arrived -- on Xbox One, if you're interested -- which puts me in a bit of a bind. Not only are we now reviewing a game that's already out, but I may now have to delay reviews of games that were provided to me in good time. That doesn't seem fair.

Still, needs must. The plan stands: some articles, maybe a Top Ten Tuesday and the review as soon as I feel that I've tested an appropriate amount. Which will almost certainly need to be all of it.

Late  May. 28, 2014 at 10:43

It's Wednesday... ;)

JonLester  May. 28, 2014 at 11:00

Haha, I mean next week for the top ten, natch. ;P

Late  May. 28, 2014 at 11:09

Yeah, I figured it's probably a bit soon to be doing a top ten things in a game you've just received. ;)

Anyway, get back to work, you! These games aren't going to play themselves!
Do you get paid double time if you have to keep playing into the evening?






(No, I'm not being serious. As much as I love the idea of being paid to play games I know I couldn't do your job. Don't mind me. I'm just sat here bored at my desk wishing there was a games console on it...)

JonLester  May. 28, 2014 at 11:33

Heh, I've been busy. Expect TWO reviews today - have been crushing my backlog over the bank holiday. Should buy me some time to get onto Watch Dogs proper. If you've got any questions I'll try and answer them!

Also, on the subject, I really wish that we got paid to play games! ;) This is one of the big misconceptions about what we (and most games writers apart from a select few) do - we effectively test/review games on our own time off our own bat. Any meagre moneys stem from writing articles or reviews, not the hours spent getting the material in the first place.

I know: cry me a river, right? :p Must crack on!

Last edited by JonLester, May. 28, 2014 at 11:44
Late  May. 28, 2014 at 16:51

How much Watch Dogs has changed since E3 2012:
kotaku

The video comparison is rather disappointing to see (especially bearing in mind the current version is pc on Ultra).

Trackbacks

Leave a Trackback from your own site

Email Address:

You don't need an account to comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.